What CPP Needs Is Continuity Not Change


A break-away political party from the Convention People’s Party (CPP), the People’s National Convention, since 1992 when we ushered in the new democratic dispensation, has performed cumulative better than the mother party.

The success of PNC is not farfetched, one does not need to be a soothsayer to tell, why even Hassan Ayariga, who was a comic relief in the 2012 presidential election, did better than Dr. Abu Sakara, who was by far the better of the two candidates.

No political party in the history of this country had changed presidential candidates than the CPP. The two dominant political force, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the New Patriotic Party (NPP), had only since 1992 presented three presidential candidates each, unlike the CPP, which at the turn of every election, had changed it flagbearer and with that come with a dwindling fortune at the polls.

The NDC, in 1992 and 1996, presented Jerry John Rawlings, who had metamorphosed from a military dictator to a democrat, when we adopted the Constitution. He won both elections that he contested, until he handed over to John Agyekum Kufuor.

When President Rawlings was about to exit, he anointed late President John Evans Atta Mills, who the NDC maintained in the 2000, 2004 and 2008 presidential elections, until he won on his third attempt.

Even against all the internal forces that clamored for change, citing ill-health, the NDC, through the instrumentality and support of Ex-President Rawlings, John Mills, was maintained, until his persistent paid off.

I do not have the numbers, but evidence available showed that President Mills’ vote appreciated from 2000, till 2008 and that culminated in his winning that election, despite a face-off with an incumbent party.

His untimely and unfortunate death meant that he was not able to complete his four-year term and so was succeeded by his Vice, now President John Dramani Mahama.

The NDC, had the option of opening nominations for eligible and willing candidates to file to contest President Mahama, but wisdom and common sense dictated that, it would not have been the best decision and so President Mahama, was overwhelmingly endorsed and as we say the rest is history.

The NPP, in 1992 elected the late Prof. Adu Boahen to lead the party, when we introduced multi-party democracy. Although that election was described as the stolen verdict, it was one of the most interesting elections we have had in this country. Chairman Rawlings was considered a player and a referee in that election and this compelled the NPP to boycott the parliamentary election. The late Hawa Yakubu, became the lone voice in the first parliament of the Fourth Republic.

In the 1996 presidential race, ex-President, John Agyekum Kufuor, defeated the late Adu Boahen to the flagbearership. President Rawlings, defeated ex-President Kufuor, then candidate Kufuor, to complete his second four-year term.

The New Patriotic Party, despite a stiff competition from Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, maintained President Kufuor for the 2000 presidential election, this time around, candidate Kufuor, defeated candidate Mills, who was then, the Vice-President to President Rawlings and the chosen one.

After winning the 2000 election, President Kufuor was elected unopposed to lead the NPP for the 2004 elections. He faced it off with Atta Mills, who was contesting him for the second time. Once again President Kufuor, defeated him to also complete his four years of second term.

Nana Addo, had his turn for the first time when he succeed outgoing President Kufuor to lead the NPP. Unfortunately for him, he was also facing candidate Mills, who was also making his third attempt after losing in 2000 and 2004.

As faith, will have it, President Mills defeated Nana Addo. The NPP, kept their promise, a promise that has become like a convention and elected Nana Addo again in 2012 to face President John Dramani Mahama.

The party did not relent on that promise even after President Mahama, defeated Nana Addo, he has been elected again to lead the party in this year’s presidential election.

The Convention People’s Party (PNC), although has not won any election since 1992, have only presented three individuals in the six elections that we have had.

Dr. Hilla Limann, the former President of the Third Republic was the first to be elected to lead the PNC. His performance in the 1992 election is nothing good to write home about. The party then decided they need a fresh limb and so Dr. Edward Mahama, was given the opportunity to lead the party in 1996.

He did not win, neither did he make any reasonable impact, but the party felt, he needed to be given another opportunity and so once again, he was elected for the 2000 election. All the opposition political parties formed the great alliance to defeat the incumbent NDC.

In both the 2004 and 2008, elections, Dr. Edward Mahama, were elected to lead the PNC, which he did, getting not less than two percent in both

The party got tired of him and replaced him with a disaster called Hassan Ayariga for the 2012 election, who despite his unpreparedness and not taking the election serious, performed better than the CPP’s Dr. Abu Sakara.

This is the political party that once upon a time was a movement and not a political party, has seen consistent fragmentation and decline since we started the Fourth Republic. They are too many hypocrites and political dinosaurs in the party, who are making sure that, the party remains divided and fragmented. The longer the party is divided the more they profit from it. A party that won for us our independence must not only be one of the formidable political party in this country, but the party to beat in any election.

The story of CPP is a sad and pathetic one, although it is a party that majority of Ghanaians lean towards, yet the party struggles to get even one
percent of the votes since 1992.

The party, has produced without a doubt, the best presidential candidates that have ever contested elections in the Fourth Republic, but they have always struggled to make any impact, simply because unlike the other political parties that believe in continuity, the fragmented CPP, have always changed its candidate.

The first to lead the CPP, was Lieutenant General Emmanuel Alexander Erskine in 1992, under a political party known as People’s Heritage Party (PHP). The party failed to glitter and the CPP was trying to resurrect after it was banned, when Dr, Kwame Nkrumah was overthrown in 1966.

The CPP remained dissolved until 29 January 1996, when the National Convention Party and the People’s Convention Party merged to form a new Convention People’s Party

Whereas, other political parties, have seen the wisdom in maintaining candidates and given them the benefit of the doubt, the CPP, on the other hand, have decided to engage in a game of chess. Shifting the players as and when it suits them.

In 2000, the party presented Prof. George Hagan, a gentleman par excellence, an academia, a man who is more than qualified to lead this country to prosperity.

In 2004, the party elected Mr George Opersika Aggudey, a businessman, who is also a good material to transform the country.

In 2008, we were given Dr. Paa Kwesi Nduom, who was partnered by Dr. Abu Sakara, the best ticket Ghanaians were presented with. As for the pedigree, capacity and ability of Dr. Nduom, I will not waste my time on it.

In 2012, Dr. Abu Sakara, also took a shot and now we have Dr. Ivor Greenstreet for 2016.
Is this party serious at all, at what point will the party realize that, continuity is everything. This try your luck that they keep engaging in, will only see the decline of the party and the results are there for any student of politics.

It is time the party rise above pettiness, selfishness and show those who are working against the interest of the party the exit.

Share this:

Share News

submit to reddit