Sophia Ackuaku Joins Obom-Domeabra NDC Race


By Cecil Mensah

The governing National Democratic Congress (NDC), yesterday opened nominations for the forthcoming parliamentary primary across the country, with big names in the party, rushing for various seats they are sure to win for the party come December 7, 2016.

One of such big names is, Madam Sophia Kareen Ackuaku, the Deputy Executive Director of the National Service Scheme (NSS).

The Herald, can report that, Madam Ackuaku, one-time NDC Parliamentary Candidate for the Dome–Kwabenya Constituency in the 2012 parliamentary elections, has opted for the Obom -Domeabra Constituency in the Greater Accra region.

Madam Sophia, opting for Obom-Domeabra, means Madam Zita Okakoi, Ghana’s current Ambassador to Serbia-Montenegro and one-time Minister for Information under late President John Evans Atta-Mills, could easily emerge the NDC’s Parliamentary Candidate for Dome–Kwabenya for the 2016 election.

In the 2012 elections, Madam Sophia, emerged winner of the NDC’s hotly contested Parliamentary primaries in the Dome–Kwabenya, beating Madam Zita.

Posters of Madam Ackouko, which has gone viral on social media platforms, had a Ga inscription’ Yoo Fo Yoo Kpakpa’, meaning “a caring mother”.

It is unclear, who Madam Sophia, will slug it out with, as the current Member of Parliament (MP), Daoud Anum Yemo, the 61- year old politician, has not indicated his decision to seek re-elections.

Mr. Yemo, a native of La-Dadekotopon, has been MP since 2005 when the NDC was in opposition. Although, he has secretly mentioned he was not longer interested in the job, he is yet to make his intension public.

Meanwhile, some notable aspirants, who have already declared their intentions to contest are, the acting Executive Director of the National Service Scheme (NSS), Dr. Kpessah Whyte, who is eyeing the Shai Osu- Doku seat.

Felix Ofosu Kwakye, for the Ablekuma North seat, while NDC Communicator, Sam George, will go for the Ningo- Prampram, but many say it won’t be an easy sail for him in his attempt to unseat the incumbent MP, E.T Mensah, who is also seeking re-election.

After failing to secure a win for the NDC in the Ablekuma North Constituency in 2012, Ras Mubarak, who is the acting Chief Executive for the National Youth Authority (NYA), is now going for the Kumbugu slot in the Northern region.

He says, he hopes to reclaim that seat for the NDC, if given the nod to represent the party in Kumbugu, when polls open on November 7, 2015.

The Northern Regional Minister, Mohammed Muniru Limuna, is going for the Damango slot, which is being held by Adam Mutara Kilo.

In the Upper East region, Clement Apaak, a Presidential Staffer, has his eyes on the Builsa South seat, which is currently in the hands of the People’s National Congress ‘(PNC’s) Alhassan Azong.

In the Central region, the Volta River Authority’s (VRA) Public Relations Officer (PRO), Sam Fletcher, has indicated his confidence in winning the Gomoa East primary.

Eric Don-Arthur, formerly of TV3, is also eying the opportunity to battle it out with Mr Afenyo Markins, the NPP MP for Effutu.

Mr Samuel Atta-Mills, younger brother of the late President Atta-Mills, is going for Komenda Edina Eguafo Abirem (KEEA).

Popular radio presenter, Abeiku Santaana for Mfantsiman as Mr Aquinas Tawiah Quansah, the NDC MP, has resolved not to seek re-election.

Ezenator Rawlings, daughter of ex-President John Rawlings, is also lacing her boots to contest the incumbent, Nii Armah Ashietey for Klottey Kloley.

Mr. Mohammed Ramadan, son of the PNC national chairman, Akmed Ramadan, is also eying the Adentan seat and is expected to pass the hurdle of beating Mr Emmanuel Ashie Moore.

Madam Bawa Mongtari, Deputy Minister for Transport, is also lacing her boots to contest the Awayaso Central seat being held by New Patriotic Party MP, Hennery Quartey.

Mr. Kwame Dzokoto, a comedian and actor, has also indicated his preparedness to contest Nsuta –Kwamang seat on the ticket of the NDC.

Mr. Peter Otokunor, a Deputy Chief Executive of NYA, has picked his nominations to contest the Ablekuma Central seat as the current NDC MP, Tetteh Chai, has indicated he is not seeking re-election.

The Mayor of Accra, Dr Alfred Oko Vanderpuije, is undecided about his dreams of becoming an MP for Ablekuma South, as Mr Fritz Baffour, the NDC MP has indicated not to seek re-election.

According to him, he still considering with people close to him, for the next action to take as his tenure as Mayor expires next year.

The former Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for Ledzokudu- Krowor Municipal Assembly (LEKMA), Mr Dan Amartey-Mensah, is relishing the opportunity to unseat Madam Sena Okitty –Dua, as the party’s candidate for the
parliamentary elections.

In Madina, Mr Francis Sosu, a Human Right lawyer is relishing the opportunity to wrestle with Alhaji Amadu Sorogho, the MP for the area since 2000.

The party has directed that all prospective candidates, who want to contest for the party’s parliamentary primary are expected to pay a filing fee of ten thousand Cedis while, prospective female candidates and persons with disability will pay half of the total amount, and will pay GH¢5,000.00 as filing fee for the parliamentary primary.

Share this:

Share News

submit to reddit