New UPSA Council Inaugurated


The Minister of Education, Prof. Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang, has inaugurated a newly constituted Governing Council for the University of Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA).

The swearing-in ceremony of the new Council was held on the campus of the University.

The 15-member council is the highest decision-making body of the University, with the mandate to ensure that the University achieves its aims of becoming a globally recognised business education institution, which blends scholarship with professionalism in the provision of its core services.

The new council is under the Chairmanship of Mr. Justice Nii Aryeetey who was reappointed by President, John Dramani Mahama. Other appointees of the President on the Council are Mr. Emmanuel Acquaye – Member, Ms. Kay Y. Quao-Simmonds – Member and Prof. Osborne A. Y. Jackson – Member.

Other members of the Council are Prof. Joshua Alabi, Vice-Chancellor; Mr. Paul Dzandu, NCTE Representative; Mr. Africanus Anane, CHASS Representative; Mrs. Angela Peasah, Representative for Professional Bodies, Dr. Prosper Adabla, Chamber of Commerce Representative; Mr. Charles Barnor, UTAG Representative; Mr. Thomas Atuam, Convocation Nominee; Dr. John Kwaku Mensah Mawutor, UPSA Alumni Representative; Mr. Kris Samuel Obodai, SRC President; Mr. Patrick Eshun, GRASSAG President; and Mr. Joseph Azangeo, TEWU representative.

In a brief remark, Prof. Opoku-Agyemang said: “I would like to reiterate the fact that you have been selected to serve on account of your proven integrity, unwavering patriotism and a sense of duty.” She charged them to bring these attributes to bear in the discharge of their responsibilities.

The Minister also used the opportunity to hail the phenomenal success of the burgeoning business University and its unique transformational history. “The transformation success of the UPSA has no doubt placed the University on a high level of professional and academic excellence, in line with the global demand for quality education,” she stated.

She also paid tribute to all the past members of the UPSA Council and asked the new members to tap into their institutional memory and gain knowledge about the University.

Speaking on behalf of the new Council, the Chair, Mr. Justice Nii Aryeetey said they were honoured for the opportunity and assured the Minister and the University community of their commitment to use their diverse expertise to craft strategies for addressing all the challenges facing the young and growing university. He said they will endeavour to discharge their responsibilities in a selfless, open, objective and accountable manner, to help the University position itself as one of the best, if not the best in Africa.

Share this:

Share News

submit to reddit