Mahama Begins All-Inclusive Gov’t?


Tony Oteng Gyasi Heads New ECG Board

Industrialist and former President of the Association of Ghana Industries (AGI), Tony Oteng Gyasi, has been appointed Chairman of the reconstituted Board of Directors for the Electricity Company of Ghana (ECG).

Tony Oteng Gyasi is seen by many as part of President John Mahama’s all-inclusive government.

The new ECG Board Chairman was in 2006, appointed by then President, John Agyekum Kufuor as Chairman of the Council of the University of Ghana (UG), Legon taking over from Dr. Ishmael Yawson, a business executive.

Lt. General Seth Obeng, who served in the Kufuor regime as Chief of Defense Staff (CDS) has been appointed by President Mahama as Ghana Armed Forces representative on the Council of State replacing Lt. General Arnold Quainoo.

The two appointments might be seen as nothing new as Mr. P.V. Obeng and ex-Defense Minister, Lt. General Henry Smith also served under Kufuor administration as Board Chairmen for Ghana Investments Promotions Center (GIPC) and Ghana Insurance Commission respectively.

Other members of the new ECG Board are; Dr. Kwasi Apea Kubi, Jon Jinapor, Dr. Ofosu Ahenkorah, Dr. Clement Abavana, Nana Kwebu Ewusi VII, Samuel Cudjoe, Eunice Comnashar and the Managing Director the Company Hutton Mensah, said a release from the Presidency, yesterday.

Private Legal Practitioner, Anthony Lithur, has been appointed Chair of the reconstituted GACL board, with Dr. Ebenezer Ayirebi Acquah, Irene Marfo, Betty Solomon Aryeh Gizealla Agbotui and Vitus Anaab-Bisi as members.

President Mahama has also reconstituted the Board of the Ghana Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA), with Air Vice Marshall Christian Edem Dovlo as Chairman.

AVM Dovlo is the immediate past Commandant of the Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre (KAIPC) and a former Director General of Personnel Administration at the General Headquarters of the Ghana Armed Forces (GAF).

Other members of the new GCAA board are Captain Daniel Gomez, Yaw Benneh, Sanja Anita Morrison, Alhassan Suhuyini, Peggy Addo and the Director General of the GCAA, Air Commodore Kwame Mamphey (Rtd.).

Other boards that have been reconstituted by the President acting in consultation with the Council of State are the Divestiture Implementation Committee (DIC) and the Ghana Airports Company Limited (GACL).

Finance Minister, Seth Terkper is the Chairman of the DIC. Other members are the Attorney General Marietta Brew Appiah-Oppong, Minister for Employment & Labour Relations Nii Armah Ashitey, Minister for Trade & Industry Haruna Iddrisu, TUC Secretary General Kofi Asamoah, Ag Executive Secretary of the Lands Commission Dr. W. K. Odame Larbi and Colonel Anthony Adokpa of the Ghana Armed Forces.

Share this:

Share News

submit to reddit