Kennedy Agyapong Unhappy With Akufo-Addo’s Cabinet


Thinks Members Lack Brain Power

New Patriotic Party (NPP) lawmaker for Assin Central Constituency, Kennedy Agyapong has admitted he has challenges defending the composition of President Nana Akufo-Addo’s cabinet.

He said on Adom TV’s Morning Show “Badwam” on yesterday that persons he expected would have been critical in the composition of cabinet were excluded a move he finds difficult in defending but said the president has the constitutional prerogative to choose who he wants to be a member of his cabinet.

“Let me admit that it is difficult to defend this, certain things are indefensible. You need certain brains at all times in cabinet but those persons were left out. It is the President’s right to determine which minister makes it to his cabinet so I do not want to talk further on this matter”, he added.

President Akufo-Addo in conformity with provisions of the Article 76(1) of the 1992 constitution which stipulates that the President should have a cabinet of not less than ten and not more than nineteen members last week made list of his cabinet public.

The list however excluded experienced names like Professor Frimpong Boteng, Hajia Alima Mahama, Kan Dapaah and Osafo Marfo but Mr Kennedy Agyepong said they should be allowed to take part in cabinet meets.

“He should allow them to take part in cabinet meetings because of their wealth of experience but the only problem is that they will be barred from voting or making critical decisions”, he advocated.

He also took on his party saying “NPP is not tolerant…they are ignoring me because I spoke against them. Those who are threatening to bring me down, they should feel free; I am waiting.”

Ken Agyapong explained that if the party was tolerant, it would have taken his criticisms in good faith instead of threatening him warning the NPP to be careful of how it handles its grassroots or risk losing the 2020 elections.

He said if the party continues to neglect the grassroots that worked tirelessly to secure its 2016 victory, it should forget winning the 2020 election.

However, according to the Assin Central MP, the party was not happy with his comment, adding “NPP is not tolerant…they are ignoring me because I spoke against them. Those who are threatening to bring me down, they should feel free; I am waiting.”

Managing Editor of the Al Hajj Newspaper, Alhaji Bature Iddrissu however expressed concerns over the ‘elephant-size’ government blaming the failure by the president to make what he said were fine brains into cabinet to the outrageous numbers.

“Few ministers can execute the vision with the help of the technocrats rather than engage 110 who are a drain to the national purse”, he stated.

President Nana Akufo-Addo has finally named nineteen persons to form his cabinet.

President Akufo-Addo, last week announced a list of 19 members as constituting his Cabinet.

The list was submitted to the Floor of Parliament and announced by the Speaker of the House, Professor Michael Ocquaye.

The Cabinet is constituted in conformity with Article 76 (1) of the 1992 constitution.

The Constitution enjoins the President to have a Cabinet of not less than 10 and not more than 19 ministers.

Find below the full list of Cabinet ministers

Minister of Trade and Industry – Alan Kyeremanten

Minister of Finance – Ken Ofori-Atta

Minister of Defence – Dominic Nitiwul

Minister of Interior – Ambrose Dery

Minister of Energy – Dr. Boakye Agyarko

Attorney General – Gloria Akuffo

Minister of Foreign Affairs – Shirley Ayorkor Botchway

Minister of Agriculture – Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto

Minister of Education – Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh

Minister of Health – Kwaku Agyemang-Manu

Ministry of Monitoring and Evaluation – Dr. Anthony Akoto Osei

Ministry of Regional Reorganization and Development – Dan Kweku Botwe

Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources –  John Peter Amewu

Ministry of Sanitation and Water Resources – Joseph Kofi Adda

Ministry of Railway Development – Joe Ghartey

Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations – Ignatius Bafuor Awuah

Ministry of Transport – Kweku Ofori Asiamah

Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts – Catherine Afeku

Ministry of Special Development Initiative – Mavis Hawa Koomson

Share this:

Share News

submit to reddit