Curfew On Nakpanduri Reviewed


The Ministry of Interior has renewed the curfew it imposed on the Nakpanduri Township in the Northern Region in April, 2014.

A press statement signed by the Sector Minister, Mr Mark Owen Woyongo, indicated that the Ministry took the decision per the advice of the Northern Regional Security Council.

The curfew period which was effected on Friday, October, 20, 2014 would last from 10:00pm to 4:00am.

The affected communities are Kpatritinga, Bonbila, Borgni and Sakogu in the Northern Region.

Violent clashes between the Mamprusis, Konkombas and Bimobas compelled the Sector Minister to impose the curfew on the town to halt subsequent occurrences.
The Minister further urged “chiefs, opinion leaders, youth and people of the area to exercise restraint in the face of the challenges confronting them and to use
non-violent means to channel their energies into ensuring peace in the area.”

In a related development, the Ministry has restricted all persons in the Bimbilla Township and surrounding areas from carrying arms, ammunition or any offensive weapon.

The Ministry said “any person found with any arms or ammunition will be arrested and prosecuted.”

In April, the Interior Minister, Kwesi Ahwoi imposed a dusk to dawn curfew on the Nakpanduri Township and its surrounding towns in the region.

The imposition of the curfew, which came upon the advice of the Northern Regional Security Council (REGSEC), followed communal violence which claimed lives and properties.

Share this:

Share News

submit to reddit