Akufo-Addo Clears Kufuor’s Boys & Girls


As Ex-President Loses His Remaining Influence In NPP

The flagbearer of the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), who clearly took sides in the last Saturday’s parliamentary primaries, succeeded in wiping out party men and women, seen to be linked to ex-President John Agyekum Kufuor.

Dr. Richard Anane, Addae Nimo, Hilda Addo, Eugene Boakye Antwi, Samuel Atta Akyea, George Andah, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, whose defeats and victories were Nana Akufo-Addo’s special project, were achieved with ease.

The outcome, confirmed how Mr. Kufuor, has been cut to size having lost his voice, influence and weight to Nana Akufo-Addo. Indeed, these decisions are taken without any recourse to his views, however, banal he maybe.

The Member of Parliament (MP) for Nhyiaso Constituency, Dr. Richard Anane, whose defeat was a special project for Nana Akufo-Addo, would not return to Parliament in 2017, after losing in the NPP’s primary.

The former Minister of Health, who is a Kufuor man, lost to former Ashanti Regional Organiser, Kennedy Kankam, Nana Addo’s preferred candidate.

Dr. Anane, obtained 110 votes, while Mr. Kankam had 247. Kweku Appiah Menkah, polled 30, and Stephen Amoah 164 votes.

Lawyer Samuel Atta Akyea’s victory, which was also a special project for the NPP flagbearer, was also achieved after having travelled to Kibi in the Eastern Region, two days to the elections in the company of Hackman Owusu Agyeman and Yaw Osafo Marfo, to openly campaign for the retention of his beloved cousin and protégée.

Ex-Joy FM broadcaster, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, who was earlier rejected by the Ofoase-Ayirebi Constituency in the Eastern Region for not coming from the area and therefore unknown, did not only win the slot, but got an unprecedented welcome onboard message from Nana Addo through Tweeter to the shock of the natives John Obiri Yeboah and Bright Asamoah Acquah.

Long before the contest, Nana Addo, showed his bias by inviting the NPP Constituency Chairman to meet Oppong Nhrumah as his residence, asking him to allow him contest the election.

Shortly after the contest, angry supporters of the two candidates, blocked roads and vandalized a car belonging to the broadcaster, claiming things were skewed for him by Nana Addo to win the primaries.

The former radio presenter, has been a member of the OccupyGhana movement, an NPP group masquerading as an independent political think-tank.

He is joined by George Andah, another member of the group, who has won the Efutu Senya NPP Constituency slot in the Central Region to go into battle with the Foreign Minister, Hanna Tetteh of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Also in the Assin Manso Akroso constituency, the incumbent, Yaw Owusu Boateng, polled only 80 votes. He was beaten by George Kwame Aboagye, who had 314 votes.

Also in the Akropong Constituency, Nana Addo’s father’s hometown, Nana Ama Dokua, won with 294 votes to beat the incumbent, William Ofori Boafo, who could only manage 94 votes. Mercy Bampoe, got 157 votes and 18 for Serwaa Akoto.

In Subin Constituency, incumbent Isaac Osei, also lost to Eugene Boakye Antwi, a Nana Addo man.

In the Abirem Constituency in the Eastern Region, incumbent Esther Obeng Dapaah, had 125 votes, but lost to John Frimpong Osei, who polled 230 votes.

Also in the Eastern Region, Eyiah Kyei Boffour, polled 294 to beat the incumbent, Gifty Klenam, who managed 112 votes in the Lower West Akim Constituency. Kwadwo Odame Antwi, had 16 votes, Stephen Asamoah Duah obtained 101.

In the Greater Accra Region, Nana Akua Owusu Afriyieh, won massively having obtained 315 votes to beat the sitting MP for Ablekuma North, Justice Joe Appiah, who had 184. Kofi Ofori, came second with 301 votes.

MP for Tarkwa Nsuaem in the Western Region, Gifty Eugenia Kusi, lost her parliamentary bid to former MCE, Mireku Duka. She had 312, as against Duka’s 453 votes.

At Mampong Constituency in the Ashanti Region, a former presidential candidate and the incumbent MP, Addai Nimo, failed to retain his seat. After counting, he received 207 votes to place second in the primary election. Kweku Ampratwum Sarpong, won with 232 votes. Benjamin Arthur, had 66 votes, followed by Peter Abum Sarkodie, who polled 33 votes.

Still in the Ashanti Region, Asante Akim North MP, Kwadwo Baah Agyemang, has lost the election. From the Ashanti Region in the Kwadaso Constituency, Dr. Samuel Kwadjo Nuamah, polled 191 votes to overthrow the incumbent, Dr. Afriyie Owusu Akoto, who had 95 votes. Hilda Addo, obtained 139 votes; Dr. Charles Dwamena 98, Dr.Kingsley Nyarko 78, and Vincent F. Manu 14.

Also in the Bantama Constituency, Daniel Okyem Aboagye, beat the sitting MP, Henry K. Kokofu.

They obtained 288 and 256 respectively. At the Asene Manso Akroso in the Eastern Region, Yaw Owusu Boateng, the incumbent was defeated by his contender, George Kwame Aboagye.

An inexperienced 23-year-old student of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) won the Kwabre East constituency in the Ashanti Region. She got 321 votes, against 187 bagged by Kofi Fripong, the incumbent, Lawyer Osei-Poku got 202 votes as K Adjei-Sefa managed 33 votes. Incumbent Elizabeth Agyemang failed to win the Oforikrom parliamentary primary in the Ashanti Region.

Also in the same region, Simon Osei Mensah, has been defeated in the Bosomtwe Constituency.

Share this:

Share News

submit to reddit